Duck Alert!

Flash news, while exploring the Chundangji Pond in the Changgyeonggung Palace gardens I came across a most splendidly coloured duck. I captured some photos of it below.  If you know what this is leave a comment on the blog!

And, just to try it out I got an animation off of the camera and converted it to an animated gif which hopefully will show up on your browser as a sequence of images. Again this is an experiment, if I works I will try for more of the same. This blog does not officially support quick time movies without paying a fee and if I can do short animations via animated gifs then it gives me an option.

 

3 Responses to “Duck Alert!”

  1. sfs2008 Says:

    Jon,
    It’s a mandarin duck. They always look to me like a cousin of the wood duck. According to this article in wikipedia, they are indeed “closely related:”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mandarin_Duck
    Best wishes,
    Jeff
    in Mull

  2. paul Says:

    Hi Jon – they are mandarin ducks … you sometimes see them here in ornamental lakes … probably imported from the Far East.

  3. John & Michelle Says:

    The animated GIF worked fine for us. Good work!

Leave a comment